Will Simona Halep beat Serena Williams in the finals?

So here’s what everybody’s asking in the U.S. Open: how do you beat Serena Williams?

It was only a week ago when Simona Halep has given Williams the fight of her life, in the final of the Western & Southern Open. Even if Williams managed to emerge as a winner in the said tournament, Halep did well. Now, she is hoping to have another chance to play against the World No. 1.

It was Alize Cornet, who was seeded 27 on the US Open, that gave a good answer, “It is advisable to go on the courtroom and ‘know’ you’ll be able to win.”

If Williams win the tournament, she will be the first female Tennis player who will claim major titles – all four of them – in a whole year since Steffi Graf did in 1988.

Halep has only managed to beat Williams once out of the seven tournaments she had against the World No. 1. Still, the scoring in the many of these losses have been close, like the 6-0, 6-2 score victory in the BNP Paribas WTA Finals held in Singapore and had been presented by SC Global just last year. Well, it Williams’ equal-worst loss in her career in terms of games won.

“It was a great day for me, but it goes very fast,” Halep said. “I know she didn’t play her best that day. I know that I went on court and I had nothing to lose, and that I was just going to enjoy the time. And I played her early in the tournament, which is better than in a final, because in a final she gives everything. But it was still a great moment for me, and I believed – I still believe.”

Not surprisingly, Halep added that she would surely root for Williams if she (Halep) didn’t make it to the finals. “If I’m not in the finals, I want her to win. If I’m in the finals with her, then I want to win!”

Well, whoever make it to the finals – best of luck, ladies!

Leave a Reply

